Annual Conference
Call For Papers Register Continuing Education Corporate Membership Exhibitors Scholarships Awards Conference Archives
One Day TrainingsWords to Deeds

christine m. west award

2017 Christine M. West Award Winner

Chief Robert Ochs, LCSW

The Christine M. West Award recognizes significant contributions by a dedicated individual working in the field of Forensic Mental Health. This year, FMHAC
honors Chief Probation Officer Robert Ochs. Chief Ochs recently retired after working in county probation since 1979. He maintained a license in clinical social work and much of his work in psychology was in forensic mental health. Chief Ochs often serves on panels and workgroups dealing with the intersection of the mental health and the corrections systems.
Chief Ochs served two terms as Chair of the Chief Probation Officers of California, Bay Area Region. He has chaired Sonoma County's Community Corrections Partnership, the group designated to design the County's response to the 2011 Criminal Justice Realignment. Chief Ochs has been tireless in his work for probationers with mental illness and deserves all the respect he has received from his peers.
We are delighted to award the 2017 West Award to Chief Probation Officer Robert Ochs. Go Dodgers!

Past West Award Recipients

1993 Robert E. Baldwin, MSSW, and Raul Espinosa, Jr., MHA
1994 Georgette DeBorde, LCSW, and Alisa M. Dunn, LCSW
1995 Timothy P. Meehan, LCSW
1996 Grenda Ernst, LCSW
1997 Melvin E. Hunter, MPA, JD, and Mitchell E. Marquez, LCSW
1998 Carla M. Jacobs and Douglas R. Korpi, PhD
1999 Patricia Butler, RN, and Burt Rein, PhD
2000 Bradford Smith, LCSW, and Jay Adams, PhD
2001 Rolf LaMar, LCSW
2002 Ben Auerbach, MA
2003 Ray Beland, LCSW
2004 Gilbert Abdalian, MFT
2005 Kevin Smith, LCSW
2006 Richard Hayward, PhD
2007 Louis Hodnett, MSW, and Wanda Killion, LCSW
2008 Lynda Frost
2009 Joel Fay, PsyD
2010 Jo Robinson, MFT
2011 Douglas Taylor Smith, LCSW
2012 Candace Kunz-Tao, MFT
2013 Millie Swafford, LCSW, and Kenneth Carabello, MSW
2014 Heather Bowlds, PsyD, and David Polak, LCSW
2015 John Philipsborn, JD
2016 LAPD/LACDMH Mental Evaluation Unit
2017 Chief Robert Ochs, LCSW

FMHAC 2008