Annual Conference
Call For Papers Register Continuing Education Corporate Membership Exhibitors Scholarships Awards Conference Archives
One Day TrainingsWords to Deeds

william t. rossiter award

2016 William T. Rossiter Award Winner

Jennifer Skeem, PhD

Each year FMHAC presents the William T. Rossiter award to an individual who has contributed widely to the field of Forensic Mental Health and treatment of mentally ill involved with criminal justice system and is known for distinguished service.

This year's Rossiter award winner is Dr. Jennifer L. Skeem, an honored psychologist and professor who researches the nexus between behavioral health and criminal justice to inform legal decision-making about juveniles and adults with emotional and behavioral problems. Dr. Skeem's research has had significant impact on improving outcomes for justice-involved people with mental illness, understanding psychopathic personality disorder, and promoting prosocial behavior among juveniles at high risk for violence.

Dr. Skeem is the author of over 150 articles and chapters and editor of 2 books—including Applying Social Science to Reduce Violent Offending, which won the American Psychological Association's Division 41 Book Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Psychology and Law. She is the past President of the American Psychology-Law Society and member of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Mandated Community Treatment. She has served on advisory boards for the Council of State Governments Justice Center, U.S. Administrative Office of the Courts and U.S. Sentencing Commission.

In recognition of her body of work, which is directly related to FMHAC's goal of promoting treatment of mentally ill individuals in the criminal system, the Association is honored to present this year's Rossiter award to Dr. Jennifer L Skeem. Congratulations.

Past Rossiter Award Recipients

1985 Roger Schock, MD
1986 Donald T. Lee, MCSW, ACSW
1987 Richard P. Mandella
1988 Pamela Craig, RN
1989 Roger J. Wiere, PhD
1990 William E. Reid
1991 Grant J. Ute, LCSW and Elsie Go Lu, PhD
1992 Christine M. West, LCSW
1993 Captane P. Thomson, MD
1994 Diane C. Serber, LCSW
1995 Arthur J. Paull, LCSW
1996 Craig S. Nelson, PhD
1997 Janet J. Kohler, MPA, LCSW
1998 E. Eugene Kunzman, MD
1999 J. Reid Meloy, PhD
2000 Mark Wiederanders, PhD
2001 Phil Erdberg, PhD
2002 The Honorable Harold E. Shabo
2003 David Meyer, JD
2004 Emily Keram, MD
2005 Rusty Selix, JD, and Darrell Steinberg, JD
2006 Barry Perrou, PsyD
2007 California State Sheriff's Association
2008 Janice Marques, PhD
2009 Terry Kupers, MD, MSP
2010 Honorable Judge Stephen Manley
2011 Stephen Mayberg, PhD
2012 Elizabeth Loftus, PhD
2013 -----
2014 Kit Wall & Elaine Linn and
Charles Scott, MD
2015 California Judicial Council
2016 Jennifer Skeem, PhD


FMHAC 2008