Annual Conference
Call For Papers Register Continuing Education Corporate Membership Exhibitors Scholarships Awards Conference Archives
One Day TrainingsWords to Deeds


FMHAC honors two individuals each year for excellent work in the field of forensic mental health with the William T. Rossiter award for global contributions and the Christine M. West award for work in the field.

William T. Rossiter Award

2017 Edward Latessa, PhD

William Rossiter III spent many dedicated years in the field of Forensic Mental Health before his death in early 1988. Among his many accomplishments, he worked as a forensic consultant to the DMH; helped develop the Conditional Release Program; and served as President of the Forensic Mental Health Association of California. In addition, he demonstrated particular commitment and donated much energy in non-forensic areas, facilitating the organization of services to those under represented and in need.

The Rossiter Award is the highest award the FMHAC bestows. With this award we honor an individual who has made, over a period of time, an exceptional global conribution to the field of Forensic Mental Health. The contribution should encompass a body of on-going and varied work such as clinical program development; administration; facilitating legislative changes and/or education. It must occur in state hospital, juvenile, community Forensic Mental Health or jail/prison settings.

View past recipients of the William T. Rossiter Award.

Christine M. West Award

2017 Chief Robert Ochs, LCSW

Christine M. West was Director of San Francisco Jail Psychiatric Services for eight years and established Forensic Health Care. Her dedication to the organization included an enormous investment of energy in the FMHAC including service as the board treasure. Ms. West spoke nationally about Jail Forensic Mental Health. She passed away in late 1991. 

The West Award recognizes contributions in the field of Forensic Mental Health. Person, collaborations, a department, or an agency may be nominated for significant individual contributions in areas such as Forensic Mental Health education, clinical treatment, research or program development.

View past recipients of the Christine M. West Award.


FMHAC Award Archives

FMHAC has given the Rossiter and West awards annually since 1985.

View current and past recipients of the Rossiter Award.

View current and past recipients of the West Award.

Submit a nomination

Write a Letter of Nomination detailing the nominee's qualifications and send it to us. We accept nominations until February 15th.

Don't forget to check the award archives (links above) to make sure your nominee hasn't already received one of our awards!

Email: fmhac@fmhac.net
Mail:77 Van Ness Ave. #101-1316
San Francisco, CA 94102

FMHAC 2008